

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Furkan Yalcin furkan.yalcin@asm.ca.gov

(310) 717-9681

July 5, 2023

Assemblywoman Pilar Schiavo Announces the 2023 Young Community Leader **Awards for Outstanding Students**

SANTA CLARITA - Assemblywoman Pilar Schiavo is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 Young Community Leader Awards, a program aimed at recognizing and honoring exceptional students within the 40th Assembly District. These awards are designed to acknowledge students who exemplify leadership qualities, demonstrate a passion for community or volunteerism, exhibit resilience and persistence, and display empathy and compassion for their peers and the broader community.

Young Community Award Recepients

Albert Einstein High School

Jazmin De La Cruz Robin Hernandez

Castaic Middle School

Griffin Whitlach Andres Mejia Lopez

Chatsworth Park Urban Planning and Community Magnet Elementary School

Mina Amiry Isabella Gomez Connor Jones

Frost Middle School

Natalie Michels Ethan Kilimnik Jackson Kimball

Golden Valley High School

Danielle Cox

Selkie Manugian Alyssa Encina Athena Rigopoulos Ashley Richard-Gantka Mazel Ceniza Talia Goldin

Mint Canyon Community School

Antonio Breckenridge Keily Gonzalez De Leon Santiago Chavez

Mitchell Community School

Jesus Sanchez Lauren Crawford Nathan Blodgett

Newhall Elementary School

Natalia Brynjolfsdottir Maria Valadez Nathalia Alvarez

Peachland Elementary School

Amelia Mercy Edward Estrada

Pico Canyon Elementary

Noah Del Torro Savannah Dameron Braeden Krevor John F. Kennedy High School Madeline Krevor Divya Tata Elijah Kang

Rancho Pico Junior High

Tristvn Nelson Adhvika Ram Govind Sudan Caleb Jones-Moreno

Valley Charter Middle School

Valeria Martinez **Ixchel Robles** Max Mitchell

Vintage Math, Science, Technology Magnet

Elliott Trainor Alexander Carcano Jason Blalock

West Creek Academy

Packiya Ramalingham Jason Tan Allison Griffiths

Wiley Canyon Elementary

Jaxon Choy

Assemblywoman Schiavo expresses her gratitude for the dedication and hard work of educators, administrators, and principals within the 40th Assembly District. Their tireless efforts in supporting the growth and development of students make these awards possible.

###

Assemblywoman Pilar Schiavo was elected to the California State Assembly in November of 2022 to represent the 40th Assembly District, representing the Northwest San Fernando Valley and the Santa Clarita Valley. Upon her election, she was appointed as Assistant Majority Whip by the Speaker of the Assembly. Prior to her election, Assemblywoman Schiavo was a Nurse Advocate and Small Business Owner who worked in the labor movement for more than 20 years. Throughout her career, Assemblywoman Schiavo helped deliver healthcare, including reproductive healthcare, to more than one million people. In the Northwest San Fernando Valley, she co-founded an organization that helped secure housing for Veterans experiencing homelessness, has delivered more than 50,000 meals to people in need, and increased resources to help keep our communities safe. Assemblywoman Schiavo lives in Chatsworth with her daughter Sofia where they love to hike in the Santa Susana Mountains.